10 Fun Facts About The Liberty Bowl

The Liberty Bowl is one of the older college bowl games still being played. It has a long history that includes showing off some great players, great teams, and great match ups. College bowl season is something special for fans of college football and the Liberty Bowl has been a big part of it.

Here is a look at some fun facts and little known info about the Liberty Bowl.

-The first Liberty Bowl was played in 1959 and saw Penn State defeat Alabama by the score of 7-0.

-Mississippi is tied for the most Liberty Bowl appearances with four and is the only team to amass four victories in the history of the bowl game.

-The Liberty Bowl started off being played in Philadelphia from 1959 to 1963. It was then moved to Atlantic City in 1964. In 1965 it was moved to Memphis where it has been ever since.

-The most points ever scored by one team in the Liberty Bowl was 47. This happened in 1969 when the Colorado Buffaloes defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide 47-33.

-The 1964 Liberty Bowl was the first bowl game ever to be played indoors. It was played in the Convention Hall on grass laid out over a concrete floor separated only by a layer of burlap.

-In 2004, Boise State lost to Louisville in the Liberty Bowl by the score of 44-40. This was the highest score ever put up by a losing team in the history of the game.

-Two of the first four Liberty Bowls were shutouts. Besides Penn State beating Alabama 7-0 in the first one, the fourth one featured Oregon State defeating Villanova 6-0. Since then there have been four more shutouts with USC defeating Texas A&M 20-0 in 1975, Mississippi beating Air Force 13-0 in 1992, Illinois defeating East Carolina 30-0 in 1994, and Utah beating Southern Miss 17-0 in 2003.

-Every Liberty Bowl has been played in the month of December except for two. The 2009 and 2010 Liberty Bowls were both played on January 2nd.

-Some of the players who have won the MVP of the Liberty Bowl and gone on to distinguish themselves in professional football or otherwise gain fame include Dick Hoak, Ernie Davis, Joe Ferguson, Randy White, Ricky Bell, James Wilder, Mark Hermann, Doug Flutie, Bo Jackson, and Adalius Thomas.

-The Liberty Bowl has played in three different stadiums: John F. Kennedy Stadium in Philadelphia (at the time known as Philadelphia Municipal Stadium), Convention Hall in Atlantic City, and Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium in Memphis.

Leave a Reply