18 Fun Facts About The Orange Bowl In Miami

The Orange Bowl is one of the many bowl games that college football fans look forward to every year. It’s featured some great games and great players over the years. Here is a look at some fun facts about one of college football’s greatest bowl games, the Orange Bowl.

-The Orange Bowl is tied with the Sun Bowl and the Sugar Bowl as the second oldest bowl games in the United States as they all started in 1935. The Rose Bowl is the oldest at it played its first game in 1902.

-Only one time has the Orange Bowl not been played in the month of January. That happened on December 31st, 1996 when Nebraska defeated Virginia Tech.

-The first corporate sponsor the Orange Bowl had was Federal Express. From 1989 to 2010 it was known as the FedEx Orange Bowl. Starting in 2011 the game will be known as the Discover Orange Bowl.

-In a span of 11 seasons two teams managed to win the Orange Bowl three consecutive times. The University of Nebraska did this first when the won in 1971 over LSU, 1972 over Alabama, and 1973 over Notre Dame. The University of Oklahoma then duplicated this accomplishment when they won in 1979 over Nebraska, and then in 1980 and 1981 beating Florida State in back to back years. These are the only two times the game has been won by any school three consecutive times.

-The Orange Bowl is played at Sun Life Stadium which most people assume is in Miami. In reality it sits in the suburb of Miami Gardens. The game was played in the actual Orange Bowl Stadium from 1938 to 1996 (and then again in 1999) so for the bulk of its history it has been played in Miami.

-A number of teams have won the Orange Bowl in back to back years including Oklahoma in 1958 and 1959, Penn State in 1969 and 1970, Oklahoma again in 1986 and 1987, the University of Miami in 1988 and 1989, Florida State in 1993 and 1994. Nebraska also won it back to back in 1996 and 1998. The 1996 game had been played on December 31st instead of January 1st meaning there was no Orange Bowl played during the calendar year of 1997.

-The first three Orange Bowl games, from 1935 to 1937, were played at a smaller stadium named Miami Field.

-Nebraska is the only school to have lost three consecutive Orange Bowl contests. They lost in 1992 to Miami and then in 1993 and 1994 to Florida State.

-After having moved to its new stadium in 1996, the Orange Bowl came back to play in the Orange Bowl Stadium in 1999 due to the Miami Dolphins also having a home game that day.

-Through 2011, the University of Oklahoma has won more Orange Bowl games than any other team, a total of 12. In second place is Nebraska with eight.

-The first Orange Bowl in 1935 had Bucknell defeating the University of Miami 26-0. This makes this also the first shutout in Orange Bowl history too.

-The highest score ever put up by a winning team in the Orange Bowl came in 1953 when the University of Alabama defeated Syracuse University 61-6.

-The lowest score a winner of the Orange Bowl ever had came in 1938 when Auburn defeated Michigan State by the score of 6-0.

-Alabama also holds the Orange Bowl record for the most points scored in a losing effort. In the 2000 Orange Bowl they lost the game 35-34 to Michigan.

-Contrary to many other bowl games, no Orange Bowl ever ended with a tie score.

-Some of the players who won the MVP Award in the Orange Bowl and then went on to play well in the NFL include Joe Namath, Mike Reid, Johnny Rodgers, Lee Roy Selmon, Tom Cousineau, Billy Simms, Bernie Kosar, Rocket Ismail, Chris Zorich, Derrick Mayes, Ahman Green, and Carson Palmer.

-In the 1994 Orange Bowl, the two MVP Awards went to Charlie Ward who played quarterback for Florida State and Tommie Frazier who played quarterback for Nebraska. The interesting thing about that is that Ward had won the Orange Bowl MVP Award the previous year in 1993 and Frazier would go on to win it the next year in 1995. They are two of the only three players to win the award in back to back years and one of those times they won it in the same year.

-Other players to win back to back Orange Bowl MVP Awards include the quarterback of the 1980 and 1981 Oklahoma Sooners teams J.C. Watts, as well as Rich Glover of Nebraska (1972, 1973) and Jerry Tagge of Nebraska (1971, 1972),

Leave a Reply