Dennis Green’s Run As The Vikings’ Head Coach

Dennis Green’s Run As The Vikings Head Coach.

No, he didn’t win a Super Bowl.
No, he wasn’t extremely successful in the playoffs.

But, let’s take a look at Dennis Green’s run as the head coach of the Minnesota Vikings.

Dennis Green took over the Vikings to start the 1992 NFL season following an 8-8 season under Jerry Burns. Green then rattled off nine consecutive years without having a below .500 season, and then in his 10th season after going 5-10 he was fired before the final game of the season which was coached by Green’s eventual successor Mike Tice.

Dennis Green would finish his run with the Vikings with a regular season record of 97-62. The highlight of which was the 1998 season when Randall Cunningham quarterbacked Green’s Vikings to a 15-1 record. Another thing to look at is this, in his ten seasons as head coach of the Vikings, he had seven different starting quarterbacks that quarterbacked either the entire season or a large part of it. Those quarterbacks are: Rich Gannon, Jim McMahon, Warren Moon, Brad Johnson, Randall Cunningham, Jeff George, and Daunte Culpepper. You can even go so far as to say that many of those quarterbacks had one or some of the best years of their career running Dennis Green’s offense.

While his three years with the Arizona Cardinals were not near as successful (a record of 16-32), it could also be said that no one could’ve coached that team to be a winner. Dennis Green’s time with the Vikings will go down in history as one of the more successful runs that any coach has had with any team in the modern NFL era.

Leave a Reply