A Dozen Fun Facts About The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl

The Chick-fil-A Bowl, which has also gone by the names Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and Peach Bowl, was first played in 1968 and continues to this day to be one of the more notable bowl games of the college football season. The game has been played in Atlanta, Georgia for the whole time of its existence. Here is a look at some fun facts about this great college football bowl game.

-Auburn defeated Clemson 23-20 in the 2007 Chick-fil-A Bowl. This was the first time the game had gone to overtime in its history.

-The West Virginia Mountaineers were the first school to win the Peach Bowl twice when they won the second one ever played in 1969 and then won it again in 1975. They had also lost the game to North Carolina State in 1972.

-The most points scored in a losing effort in the Peach Bowl is 34. This happened in 1992 when East Carolina defeated North Carolina State 37-34.

-The 2006 Georgia vs. Virginia Tech Chick-fil-A Bowl had the largest attendance in the game’s history with 75,406 people there for the big game.

-The first and so far only shutout to ever occur in this bowl game came in 1976 when Kentucky beat North Carolina 21-0.

-The Atlanta Marathon was actually sponsored by the bowl game from 1969 to 1975 and also held on the same weekend. Though it would get sponsorship elsewhere, the marathon continued to be held on the same weekend as the game until 1980.

-The only tie game in Peach Bowl history came in 1974 when Texas Tech and Vanderbilt played to a 6-6 final score.

-The first Peach Bowl ever was played on December 30, 1968 and featured the LSU Tigers defeating the Florida State Seminoles by the score of 31-27.

-Some players who would win the MVP Award of the game and then would go on to notable professional football careers include: Mark Herrmann, Jim Kelly, Jim Burt, Chuck Long, Erik Kramer, Rodney Hampton, Jeff Blake, Natrone Means, Tiki Barber, Hines Ward, Takeo Spikes, Champ Bailey, Devin Hester, and Matthew Stafford.

-The highest scoring Peach Bowl was the third one ever played. In that December 30, 1970 contest Arizona State scored 48 points while the North Carolina Tar Heels scored 26 for a total of 74 points.

-The two teams who have appeared in the most Chick-fil-A/Peach Bowls are North Carolina State and Clemson with seven appearances each.

-The most wins in the history of this bowl games is five and was accomplished by Louisiana State University. Interestingly, they are 5-0, having never lost one of their games there (1968, 1996, 2000, 2005, and 2008).

Leave a Reply