Tim Tebow Wins Heisman Trophy – What Next?

Congratulations to University of Florida quarterback Tim Tebow on winning the 2007 Heisman Trophy Award.  He was the favorite to win it going into the ceremony, and the favorite paid off.


What next?


Two previous quarterbacks from the University of Florida have won the Heisman Trophy, and didn’t have the most success in the NFL.


Danny Wuerffel – 1996 Heisman Trophy


Wuerffel played just four seasons in the NFL, the first three (1997, 1998, and 1999) with the New Orleans Saints and then didn’t play again until a 2002 stint with the Washington Redskins.  Never a regular starting quarterback, Wuerffel also did not finish any of his seasons with more touchdowns than interceptions, and in only two of his seasons did he finish with a completion percentage above fifty percent.


Steve Spurrier – 1966 Heisman Trophy


Though making his name as a very successful college football coach, particularly at his alma mater the University of Florida, Spurrier’s ten year stint as an NFL quarterback was not a complete success.  A sometimes starter during his career, Spurrier played the first nine seasons of his career with the San Francisco 49ers and his final year with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.  In only one season did he have more touchdown passes than interceptions, and some seasons as a backup he attempted less than ten passes over the course of the entire season.


Tim Tebow, being the first sophomore to ever win the Heisman, doesn’t necessarily have to worry about the NFL at this point, but here’s wishing him good luck in becoming the most successful Florida Gator Heisman Trophy winning quarterback to play in the NFL.

Leave a Reply