A Look At The NFL MVP Award

A Look At The NFL MVP Award

Winning the NFL MVP Award can be one of the pinnacles of a player’s career. Many players can point to being named the MVP of the league as one of the high points of their careers. The NFL MVP Award, awarded by the Associated Press, was first awarded in 1957 and has gone to a variety of players.

Some facts (all through the 2006 season):

• Only three defensive players have won the NFL MVP Award; Detroit Lions linebacker Joe Schmidt (sharing the award in 1960 with quarterback Norm Van Brocklin), Chicago Bears defensive end Alan Page (1971), and New York Giants linebacker Lawrence Taylor (1986).

• Only one full-time special teams player has ever won the NFL MVP Award: Washington Redskins Kicker Mark Moseley.

• The Green Bay Packers have won the award the most times with players receiving the award six different times (Brett Favre 3 times, Bart Starr, Jim Taylor, and Paul Hornung).

• Twice in history, one team has received the NFL MVP Award in three consecutive years; the Green Bay Packers (Brett Favre ’95, ’96, ’97) and the St. Louis Rams (Kurt Warner ’99, 01 and Marshall Faulk ’00).

Through 2006, players that have won one NFL MVP Award:

Charlie Connerly
Norm Van Brocklin
Joe Schmidt
Paul Hornung
Jim Taylor
Y.A. Tittle
Bart Starr
Earl Morrall
Roman Gabriel
John Brodie
Alan Page
Larry Brown
O.J. Simpson
Ken Stabler
Fran Tarkenton
Bert Jones
Walter Payton
Terry Bradshaw
Earl Campbell
Brian Sipe
Ken Anderson
Mark Moseley
Joe Theismann
Dan Marino
Marcus Allen
Lawrence Taylor
John Elway
Boomer Esiason
Thurman Thomas
Emmitt Smith
Barry Sanders
Terrell Davis
Marshall Faulk
Rich Gannon
Steve McNair
Shaun Alexander
LaDainian Tomlinson

Players that have won two NFL MVP Awards:

Johnny Unitas
Joe Montana
Steve Young
Kurt Warner
Peyton Manning

And two players have won three NFL MVP Awards:

Jim Brown
Brett Favre (three consecutive)

Being recognized as the most valuable player in the league has got to be a rewarding feeling for any NFL player. The history of the MVP Award shows that though dominant superstars usually win the award, you shouldn’t underestimate the undrafted players, the kickers, and the players off historically losing franchises as they can win it too.

Leave a Reply