Two Players Dominate The Single Season Touchdown Passing Category For Seven Straight Years

From 1992 through 1998, only two players were listed at the top of the yearly touchdown passing leaders category. Future Pro Football Hall of Famer Steve Young led the league in touchdown passes from three straight years in the early 1990s. In 1992 he threw 25, in 1993 he threw 29, and in 1994 he threw 35. The very next year would see Green Bay Packers legend Brett Favre take over the leader board himself and hold it for three consecutive years. Favre would throw 38 TD passes in 1995, 39 in 1996, and 35 in 1997. The seventh year of that stretch would go back to Steve Young as he would lead the league in touchdown passes with 36 at the age of 37. All the teams in the NFL, and no quarterback could break into the top spot for yearly TD passes for those seven years because of the greatness of Steve Young and Brett Favre.

Leave a Reply