The Most Sacked Quarterbacks In Atlanta Falcons History

The Atlanta Falcons have had some tough years during their time in the National Football League, along with some successful seasons too. Over the years, they have kind of had a habit of having good quarterbacks who are not exactly surrounded by the best talent. Which of their quarterbacks have been sacked the most though?

Here are the top ten Atlanta Falcons quarterbacks based on how many times they have been sacked through the 2009 NFL season.

#1 – Steve Bartkowski – 345
Steve Bartkowski played in almost twice as many games for the Atlanta Falcons than any other player. That “helped” him also be the most sacked Falcon ever too.

#2 – Chris Chandler – 197
Chris Chandler played for the Falcons from 1997 to 2001 and is one of the few multi-year starting quarterbacks in team history with a career winning record (Bob Lee, Michael Vick, and Matt Ryan being the others).

#3 – Michael Vick – 187
Michael Vick was a revolutionary style of quarterback and he definitely had periods of success. He could run just as well as throw and that was a big part of his game. He played for the team from 2001 to 2006.

#4 – Chris Miller – 143
Chris Miller played for the team from 1987 to 1993 after being drafted out of the University of Oregion and put up some very good years.

#5 – Bob Berry – 127
Bob Berry was the second starting quarterback in franchise history, playing for the team from 1968 to 1972.

#6 – David Archer – 87
David Archer came to the Falcons out of Iowa State and played for them from 1984 to 1987.

#7 – Jeff George – 86
Many of the Falcons passing records are still held by Jeff George who played there from 1994 to 1996.

#8 – Matt Ryan – 59 – (Tie)
Matt Ryan came to the Falcons from Boston College in 2008 and made an immediate impact. He is a consistent performer who makes few mistakes and excels under pressure.

#8 – Bobby Hebert – 59 – (Tie)
After a semi successful run with the New Orleans Saints, Bobby Hebert played both starting and backup quarterback for the Falcons from 1993 to 1996.

#8 – Bob Lee – 59 – (Tie)
Bob Lee was one of the first real successful Falcons quarterbacks. He was only with the team from 1973 to 1974, but he did put up a winning record as a starter.

Leave a Reply