Corey Dillon Has The Most 1,000 Yard Rushing Seasons In Cincinnati Bengals History

The Cincinnati Bengals came into the league in the late 1960’s, just before the merger of the American Football League with the National Football League. They got off to a slow start and had a number of down years before finally joining the ranks of respectable teams in the 1980’s. Since then, while still experiencing some lows, the team has put together some very good seasons too.

They have seldom been feared as an incredible rushing team, though they have had good players at the running back position at different times during their history. A good way to measure a running back’s performance and ability is by how many 1,000 yard seasons they were able to accrue. Corey Dillon, with a total of six, put together more 1,000 yard seasons for the Bengals than any other player in history.

Through the 2009 season, only eight players have ever amassed 1,000 rushing yards in a season for the Cincinnati Bengals. Here is a look at them and how many times they reached that milestone.

#1 – Corey Dillon – 6
#2 (tie) – James Brooks – 3
#2 (tie) – Rudi Johnson – 3

Five other players tied with one 1,000 yard season apiece: Paul Robinson, Pete Johnson, Ickey Woods, Harold Green, and Cedric Benson.

Leave a Reply