New York Giants Players Who Have Won The NFL MVP Award

The New York Giants date back to the mid 1920’s and in all that time they have proven again and again to be one of the more successful franchises in all of Pro Football. They have achieved this by winning big games, making big plays, and also by having great players.

In the NFL, the player who is deemed to have had the best season of anyone and also meant the most to his team that year is given the Most Valuable Player Award, or MVP. Through 2009, five different New York Giants players have been chosen to receive the honor.

1938 – Mel Hein
Mel Hein was the only offensive linemen to win the NFL MVP Award ever. He was named to the 1930s All Decade Team and the NFL 75th Anniversary Team. He is still regarded to this days as one of the most dominating offensive linemen ever. He played 15 seasons for the Giants and never missed a game due to injury. He is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

1956 – Frank Gifford
Frank Gifford played for the Giants from 1952 to 1964. He later became famous again as a broadcaster, but in the 1950s he was the golden boy of a great team. He went to eight Pro Bowls at three different positions (defensive back, running back, and wide receiver) and helped the team be one of the better teams of the era. He is still remembered fondly by fans and teammates.

1959 – Charlie Conerly
Charlie Conerly played his entire NFL career, from winning the Rookie of the Year Award in 1948 through the 1961 season, with the Giants. All these years later, there are still several team passing marks that are held by him. He was voted to two Pro Bowls (1950 and 1956) and was a key ingredient to the 1956 NFL Championship team, not to mention two other teams that made it to the championship game.

1963 – Y.A. Tittle
Y.A. Tittle made his name as a quarterback with a lot of potential for the San Francisco 49ers, where he would often split playing time Frankie Albert and then later John Brodie. After two years with the old Baltimore Colts and ten seasons with the 49ers, he would find himself traded in 1961 to the New York Giants. There he would team with some of the greats of the era to lead tht team to three straight Eastern Division titles and also set a number of NFL passing records. He would retire following the 1964 season and be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1971.

1986 – Lawrence Taylor
Lawrence Taylor, known as L.T., revolutionized the way NFL players and coaches would use the linebacker position. He was the dominant defensive player of his era and a member of the great 1980’s Giants teams. The Giants teams that were feared during the 1980s and early 1990s because of their defense leaned on Taylor’s play a great deal and he always answered. He would make the Pro Bowl ten times, be named to the 1980s All Decade Team, the NFL 75th Anniversary Team, and win three Defensive Player of the Year Awards. He was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1999.

Leave a Reply