The Best Quarterback Seasons In Dallas Cowboys History

The Dallas Cowboys are known as America’s Team and they have played in some of the biggest games in football history. Over the years, the team has also had some great quarterbacks suit up for them. Which quarterbacks for the Cowboys though have had the best seasons for the team in different categories?

Starting Every Game

Dallas has had a long history of having stability at quarterback. The following quarterbacks have started every game in one season for the Cowboys at least one time: Craig Morton, Roger Staubach, Danny White, Troy Aikman, Quincy Carter, Drew Bledsoe, and Tony Romo.


Tony Romo completed 425 passes in 2012, this is the most that has ever been completed by a Cowboys quarterback in one season. He broke the team record of 347 that was set by none other than himself in 2009.


The most interceptions thrown in one season by a Cowboys quarterback is 25. This was first done in the team’s first season in football, 1960, by quarterback Eddie LeBaron and was equaled in 1980 by Danny White. The fewest interceptions thrown for the team by a quarterback who started every game of the year is the seven thrown by Troy Aikman in 1995.

Passing Yards

No Cowboys quarterback has thrown for more yards in one season than Tony Romo’s 4,903 in 2012. In fact, Romo is the only Cowboys quarterback to ever top the 4,000 yard mark… and he has done it four times, doing it first in 2007.

Touchdown Passes

In 2007, Tony Romo threw more touchdown passes in one season than any other Cowboys quarterback ever had when he completed 36 of them. The longest touchdown pass any Cowboys quarterback ever had went for 95 yards and was thrown by Don Meredith in 1966.

Quarterback Rating

The best quarterback rating a Dallas quarterback ever ended up with for one season is the 113.2 rating put up by Tony Romo in 2014 when he put up a record of 12-3 in the 15 games he started. This broke the previous record of 104.8 that Roger Staubach had posted when he went 10-0 as a starter in 1971.


The Dallas Cowboys quarterback to rack up the most wins in one season as the starter is Troy Aikman. In 1992, Aikman helped the Cowboys win the Super Bowl by leading the team to a team record 13 regular season wins as the starting quarterback. Tony Romo tied this record in 2007 when he too won 13 games as the team’s starter.

Leave a Reply