The Members Of The Philadelphia Eagles Honor Roll

The Philadelphia Eagles have played football in the National Football League since 1933. Throughout all their time in the pro ranks, they have played in some big games and had some great moments. They have also had some of the best players the league has ever seen.

To honor the best players and coaches the team has ever had, in 1987 the Eagles established the Philadelphia Eagles Honor Roll. Since then, they have added more players to the list regularly. Here is a look at who is included in this group of important people related to the Philadelphia Eagles.

1987 would be the first year of the Philadelphia Eagles Honor Roll. As a way of kicking it off, the team would induct every former Eagles player, coach, or administrator who had already been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame at that point, along with a couple of other deserving individuals. Thirteen people were inducted that first year, they were Chuck Bednarik, Bert Bell, Harold Carmichael, Bill Hewitt, Sonny Jurgensen, Wilbert Montgomery, Earle “Greasy” Neale, Pete Pihos, Ollie Matson, Jim Ringo, Norm Van Brocklin, Steve Van Buren, and Alex Wojciechowicz.

In 1988, Bill Bergey and Tommy McDonald would be included.

Pete Retzlaff and Tom Brookshier would become members of the team’s Honor Roll in 1989.

Timmy Brown would be the lone player included in 1990.

1991 would see two players added to the Honor Roll, Jerry Sisemore and Stan Walters.

Fan favorite Ron Jaworski would be honored with induction in 1992.

Bill Bradley would be named as a member of the Eagles Honor Roll in 1993.

1994 would see former head coach Dick Vermeil’s name raised high in the stadium as part of the Honor Roll.

Jim Gallagher, a longtime team executive, and wide receiver Mike Quick would be named to the Philadelphia Eagles Honor Roll in 1995.

Jerome Brown, who only played for the team for five seasons before passing away due to an automobile accident, was named to the Honor Roll in 1996.

Former head trainer Otho Davis was inducted in 1999.

The year 2006 would see Reggie White’s name listed as a member of the Philadelphia Eagles Honor Roll.

Al Wistert and Randall Cunningham would be included in the Honor Roll in 2009.

Leave a Reply