The New Orleans Saints’ Unexpected Heisman Trophy Winner

The New Orleans Saints‘ Unexpected Heisman Trophy Winner

How many Heisman Trophy Winners have been drafted by the New Orleans Saints? Want to win a bet? The Saints drafted Heisman Trophy winners George Rogers in 1982, Danny Wuerffel in 1997, Ricky Williams in 1999, and Reggie Bush in 2005. So, the answer to that question is five. Five? That’s only four. Upon entering the league in 1967, the New Orleans Saints were able to select players off the rosters of other teams in the expansion draft. In that 1967 NFL Expansion Draft they selected Notre Dame and Green Bay Packers legend (and Heisman Trophy winner) Paul Hornung… making him the fifth Heisman Trophy winner “drafted” by the Saints.

Leave a Reply