The Overtime Touchdowns Scored By The Minnesota Vikings

Metrodome Panoramic from Corner
Creative Commons License photo credit: Bjorn Hanson

The Minnesota Vikings came into the NFL in 1961 and since that time have played in some very big games. The players who have played for the team have scored some big touchdowns, including one of the most exciting kinds of touchdowns to score, the overtime touchdown.

Overtime was introduced into NFL regular season play in 1974. Due to a team being able to win an overtime game by being the first one to score any points, most overtime games in league history have been settled by a field goal. During their history, and through the 2009 season, the Viking have scored seven overtime touchdowns to win games. Here is a look at how and when they did it.

The first Vikings overtime touchdown was unusual to say the least. It came on an 11 yard pass from future Hall of Famer and defensive back Paul Krause and was caught by tight end Stu Voigt. This helped the team beat the Chicago Bears 22-16.

The second overtime touchdown in team history came in dramatic fashion. Tommy Kramer and Ahmad Rashad hooked up for a 50 yard touchdown pass to beat the rival Green Bay Packers 27-21.

Speedy running back Darrin Nelson scored the team’s third overtime touchdown ten years after it’s first on a 24 yard run. This came in a 44-38 win over the Dallas Cowboys.

Hall of Fame quarterback Warren Moon got into the overtime touchdown book in a 1994 win over the Bears with a 65 yard touchdown pass to Vikings receiver Cris Carter.

In an October 1995 game against the Houston Oilers, Robert Smith broke loose for a 20 yard score in overtime that sealed the game at 23-17.

In November of 1995, Warren Moon became the first Vikings quarterback to throw two overtime touchdown passes for the team when he hit Qadry Ismail for 50 yards in a 30-24 win over the Arizona Cardinals.

After having score three overtime touchdowns in two years, the Vikings would have to wait nine years for their next one. Then in October of 2004, Daunte Culpepper would throw a 50 yard touchdown pass to Marcus Robinson in overtime to defeat the Houston Texans by the score of 34-28.

Of note…

-Of their seven career overtime touchdowns, Warren Moon is the only player involved in more than one of them.

-Wide receivers have scored more overtime touchdowns in Vikings history (4) than running backs (2) and tight ends (1) combined.

-Three of the seven overtime touchdowns in team history have been passing plays that went for exactly 50 yards.

-The longest overtime touchdown in team history: 65 yards (Moon to Carter in 1994). The shortest: 11 yards (Krause to Voigt in 1977).

-The only team the Vikings have scored an overtime touchdown against more than once is the Chicago Bears. They did it first in 1977 and then again in 1994.

-The team has scored overtime touchdowns against Houston twice too, the first time against the Oilers though and the second time against the Texans.

Leave a Reply