The Retired Numbers Of The Houston Oilers / Tennessee Titans

Whether talking about the Houston Oilers years or the era that the team has built on since moving to Tennessee and becoming the Titans, this is a franchise that has a lot to be proud of. They started out by winning AFL Championships in their first two seasons in pro football, they were a good team through most of the 1960’s, Earl Campbell made them formidable once again in the late 1970’s, and then the Warren Moon era of the late 1980’s and 1990’s was also a good time to be an Oilers fan. When the team relocated to Tennessee, it was quarterback Steve McNair and coach Jeff Fisher that helped to make the team one of the tougher ones in the league. Throughout their history, the Oilers/Titans franchise has had great players. Here is a look at the players who earned the distinction of having their jersey number retired by the team.

#1 – Warren Moon
Warren Moon played for the team from 1984 to 1993 and was statistically one of the best quarterbacks in the league during that time. Moon would finish his career with a few other teams, but it was the years he had in Houston that earned him his place in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

#34 – Earl Campbell
Earl Campbell came to the team in 1978, and led the entire NFL in rushing yards in each of his first three years in the league. He would go on to have a Hall of Fame career.

#43 – Jim Norton
Jim Norton was the all time interception leader in the AFL and was one of the big stars of the Oilers during their first decade in pro football.

#63 – Mike Munchak
Mike Munchak was one of the anchors of the offensive line during the 1980’s and 1990’s for the Oilers. He would eventually be voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

#65 – Elvin Bethea
Elvin Bethea played for the Oilers from 1968 to 1983 and over the years became one of the best defensive players in the league. He would go into the Pro Football Hall of Fame after his playing days were over.

#74 – Bruce Matthews
Bruce Matthews played his whole career for both the Houston Oilers and the Tennessee Titans (1983-2001). Over the course of his career, he was voted into the Pro Bowl 14 times. He was voted into the Hall of Fame as one of the best offensive linemen in history.

Leave a Reply