The Washington Redskins All-Time Leading Rusher At Quarterback

the quarterback’s main job in today’s NFL is to pass the ball, but they can also be effective on the run. Which quarterback has rushed for more yards than any other Washington Redskins quarterback? The answer is Joe Theismann who during his career (1974-1985) ran the ball 355 times for 1,815 yards and 17 touchdowns. He ended up with a 5.1 yard per carry average to go along with gaining an average of 10.9 yards per game. His longest run was 37 yards.

On the list of all time rushing leaders for the Washington Redskins, Theismann ranks 24th, just behind Bob Seymour (1940-45) and just ahead of Brian Mitchell (1990-99).

Where do other Redskins quarterbacks rank on the career rushing yards list for the team? Sammy Baugh (1937-52) is 29th, Eddie LeBaron (1952-59) is 59th, Ralph Guglielmi (1955-60) is 65th, Sonny Jurgensen (1964-74) is 75th, Mark Rypien (1988-93) is 80th, Gus Frerotte (1994-98) is 89th, Jay Schroeder (1985-87) is 92nd, Norm Snead (1961-63) is 93rd, Mark Brunell (2004-06) is 94th, Al Dorow (1954-56) is 95th, and Billy Kilmer (1971-78) is 99th.

Leave a Reply