The Winningest Quarterback In Oakland Raiders History

The Oakland Raiders came into the football as a charter member of the American Football League in 1960. They quickly gained a reputation as a throwing team and have really kept that throughout their history. What quarterback though has won the most games in a Raiders uniform?

The winningest quarterback in Oakland Raiders history is Ken Stabler. Stabler played for the Raiders from 1970 to 1979 and was one of the most exciting and successful quarterbacks of the decade. He finished his time with the team completing 1,486 out of 2,481 passes, for a 59.9% completion percentage, and 19,078 yards. He also threw 150 touchdowns against 143 interceptions. Along the way, the Raiders would put up a record of 69-26-1 in games in which he was the starter. His 69 wins as the quarterback of the Raiders were just enough to edge out the previous career leader for the team, Daryle Lamonica, who had won 62 games with the team. At the end of the 1970s, Stabler would move on and finish his career with the Oilers and the Saints. He would be remembered fondly though by Raiders fans of the time.

The rest of the top five Raiders quarterbacks when ranked by wins goes as follows:

1. Ken Stabler – 69
2. Daryle Lamonica – 62
3. Rich Gannon – 45
4. Jim Plunkett – 38
5. Jeff Hostetler – 33

Leave a Reply