Who Has Led The Atlanta Falcons In Rushing The Most Times?

The Atlanta Falcons first year in the NFL was 1966. The team was not immediately successful, in fact it would take until their 8th season in the league before they would post an above .500 record, but over time they have come to be one of the more respectable teams in the league. The Falcons have had a number of very good running backs play for them over the years, and the all time leading rusher in team history is Gerald Riggs, but what player has led the team in rushing the most times?

Four different players have led the Falcons in rushing during four years. They are Cannonball Butler (1968-71), Dave Hampton (1972-75), Gerald Riggs (1984-87), and Jamal Anderson (1996-98, 2000).

But that isn’t the most, because there are two players that have led the team in rushing five different times. The first one to do so was William Andrews who accomplished it from 1979 through 1983, and the second player to do it was Warrick Dunn who was the team leader in rushing in 2002, and then again from 2004 to 2007.

Leave a Reply