Who Has Led The Dallas Cowboys In Rushing The Most Seasons?

The Dallas Cowboys have been one of the most popular teams in the National Football League since the 1970s when they became America’s Team. Over the years, the team has had some great running backs, some of whom played a long time in Dallas. What running back has led the Cowboys in rushing the most seasons though?

-Calvin Hill led the Cowboys in rushing in 1969 and then again from 1972 to 1974. A total of four seasons.

-Don Perkins was one of the early Dallas Cowboys to experience success in the league. He led the team in rushing seven times, from 1961 to 1965 and then again in 1967 and 1968.

-Tony Dorsett won the Heisman Trophy at Pitt and then came to Dallas and made an immediate impact. He led the team in rushing ten consecutive years, from 1977 to 1986.

-It should come as no surprise though that the player who has led the Dallas Cowboys in rushing the most years is also the NFL‘s all time rushing yards leader, Emmitt Smith. Smith led the Cowboys in rushing every year from 1990 to 2002, a total of 13 seasons.

Many different players have led the Cowboys in rushing over the years including Marion Barber, Julius Jones, Troy Hambrick, Paul Palmer, Herschel Walker, Doug Dennison, Robert Newhouse, Duane Thomas, Dan Reeves, and L.G. Dupre. None however can match the 13 seasons that the great Emmitt Smith led the team in rushing. He’s in a class by himself.

Leave a Reply