Career NFL Touchdown Leaders By State

An interesting way to track touchdown record holders is to do it by state. What players have scored more touchdowns than anyone else from their state? This is all about local bragging rights. Here is a look at some interesting facts regarding touchdown leaders by state.

-No player in NFL history has scored more touchdowns than former NFL wide receiver Jerry Rice. This would make Rice the leader in touchdowns scored from players born in Mississippi. Who has scored the fewest touchdowns but still leads their state in touchdowns scored? Phil Sarboe scored two touchdowns in his NFL career, no player from Alaska has scored more touchdowns than him.

-Players from Texas have scored more NFL touchdowns than players from any other state.

-Texas also has more football players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame than any other state. Pennsylvania is a very close second place.

-14 states in the USA have never produced a Hall of Fame player: Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Wyoming.

Here is a list of every state, and what player born in that state has scored more NFL touchdowns than any other player born in that state.

Alabama – Terrell Owens
Alaska – Phil Sarboe
Arizona – Amos Marsh
Arkansas – Don Hutson
Califorina – Marcus Allen
Colorado – Dutch Clark
Connecticut – Joe Horn
Delaware – Tim Wilson
Florida – Emmitt Smith
Georgia – Jim Brown
Hawaii – Arnold Morgado
Idaho – Merril Hoge
Illinois – Bill Brown
Indiana – Mark Clayton
Iowa – Roger Craig
Kansas – John Riggins
Kentucky – Shaun Alexander
Louisiana – Marshall Faulk
Maine – Thurlow Cooper
Maryland – Chuck Foreman
Massachusetts – Don McCauley
Michigan – Jerome Bettis
Minnesota – Dave Casper
Mississippi – Jerry Rice
Missouri – James Wilder
Montana – Frank Akins
Nebraska – Ahman Green
Nevada – Max McGee
New Hampshire – Greg Landry
New Jersey – Franco Harris
New Mexico – Tommy McDonald
New York – Art Monk
North Carolina – Torry Holt
North Dakota – Pete Retzlaff
Ohio – Cris Carter
Oklahoma – Steve Largent
Oregon – Jerry Smith
Pennsylvania – Marvin Harrison
Rhode Island – Tom Mitchell
South Carolina – Stanley Morgan
South Dakota – Pug Manders
Tennessee – James Stewart
Texas – LaDainian Tomlinson
Utah – Steve Young
Virginia – Tiki Barber
Vermont – Jim Laird
Washington – Corey Dillon
West Virginia – Randy Moss
Wisconsin – Elroy Hirsch
Wyoming – Jack Snow
Washington DC – Brian Westbrook

1 comment

  1. I am very excited about the next season. Should be very exciting!

Leave a Reply