Leading The League In Scoring In Consecutive Seasons

Year in and year out, the NFL scoring leader is most often a kicker. It stands to reason as a kicker has more opportunities to score during a football game. In fact in the 28 seasons from 1980 through 2007, kickers led the league in scoring 20 times. A true oddity in the history of league leaders in scoring though is finding players who have led the league in scoring in consecutive years. Only nine players have accomplished that feat in the entire history of the NFL, so let’s take a look at the rare players who have managed to lead the league in scoring not only in multiple seasons, but multiple consecutive seasons.

Seasons As Scoring Leader
Dutch Clark Running Back Lions
1935, 36
Don Hutson Receiver Packers
1940, 41, 42, 43, 44
Pat Harder Running Back Cardinals
1947, 48, 49
Gordie Soltau Receiver/Kicker 49ers
1952, 53
Paul Hornung Running Back Packers
1959, 60, 61
Gino Cappelletti Receiver/Kicker Patriots (AFL)
1963, 64, 65, 66
Jim Turner Kicker Broncos (AFL)
1968, 69
Fred Cox Kicker Vikings
1969, 70
John Smith Kicker Patriots
1979, 80
Marshall Faulk Running Back Rams
2000, 01

Leave a Reply