WLAF / NFL Europe / NFL Europa

Team Directory

Amsterdam Admirals
Barcelona Dragons
Berlin Thunder
Birmingham Fire
Cologne Centurions
Frankfurt Galaxy
Hamburg Sea Devils
London Monarchs
Montreal Machine
New York / New Jersey Knights
Ohio Glory
Orlando Thunder
Raleigh-Durham Skyhawks
Rhein Fire
Sacramento Surge
San Antonio Riders
Scottish Claymores

Facts and information about the World League of American Football and it’s followers;
NFL Europe and NFL Europa

World League

  • In 1995 the NFL relaunched the World League, but this time it only consisted of European teams; the three European teams were kept from the original WLAF (London, Barcelona, and Frankfurt) and three new teams were added (Amsterdam, Dusseldorf, and Edinburgh).
  • This version of the World League lasted until 1998 when the league was rebranded as NFL Europe

NFL Europe

  • In 1998, the NFL rebranded its World League (which had restarted in 1995 after the World League of American Football had only lasted the 1991 and 1992 seasons) as NFL Europe.
  • From 1998 to 2004, all seven World Bowls were won by teams from Germany.
  • The 2006 NFL Europe season started and ended a month earlier than any other year due to stadium commitments as a result of the FIFA World Cup.
  • NFL Europe’s league offices remained in London, even as the Monarchs and other non-German teams folded.

NFL Europa

  • The change from the name NFL Europe to NFL Europa was made to highlight the fact that the six teams in the league at the time were all located in either Germany or the Netherlands.
  • In 1991, when the NFL first tried marketing American Football to Europe there was one German team, as of 2007 the only teams in NFL Europa were German teams except for one.

More Links

Biodiesel Information


Leave a Reply